Tasty Tootsie Rolls
Tootsie Rolls can already be one of your favourite sweets. If not yet, I think it’s worth you give it a try. Well, Tootsie Roll is a quite old and well known candy manufactured in the US since 1907. The major manufacturing industry of Tootsie Rolls is located in Chicago, Illinois. Tootsie derived its name from the nick name of Clara who was the daughter of Leo Hirschfield, the founder of Tootsie industries. Tootsie Roll is simply a chocolate-flavored taffy-like candy. Interestingly, it was the first penny candy that was wrapped individually the US.In this articles we explain about are Are tootsie rolls vegan? or Are tootsie roll fruit chews vegan
What are the Tootsie Rolls made of?
In search of the Tootsie Roll production, it is very important to look into the ingredients that a Tootsie roll contain. Then you can decide whether it is vegan or not. Usually, the Tootsie Rolls recipe includes sugar, palm oil, condensed skim milk, corn syrup, cocoa, whey, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors as ingredients. Apart from the common cocoa-flavoured Tootsie Roll, there are other flavours too. Tootsie Fruit Chews come in the flavors including orange, vanilla, lemon, cherry and lime. The famous Tootsie Frooties vary in numerous flavors, including banana-berry, smooth cherry, fruit punch, pink lemonade, red strawberry, blue raspberry, grape, green apple, root beer, cranberry, blueberry, mango and watermelon.
Are Tootsie Rolls vegan?
Vegans are way different from vegetarians. Vegans do not eat anything made using animal ingredients. So I don’t recommend Tootsies for vegans. The derivative candies of Tootsie Rolls such as Tootsie Fruit Rolls and Tootsie Pops contain animal ingredients.
The non-vegan ingredients in Tootsie Rolls
As I said earlier, Tootsie Rolls contain condensed skim milk, whey and palm oil. Let me shed some light on each ingredient in Toostsie Rolls.
Condensed skim milk
When water is removed from normal cow milk, it becomes condensed milk or evaporated milk. It is known as sweetest condensed milk when sugar is added to condensed milk. It contains 28% of total milk, 8% of milk fat and 15% of sugar either in the form of dextrose or corn syrup. Condensed milk becomes an ideal combination for most of the confectionery and chocolate products.
This is a fine ingredient for improving texture and mouthfeel. Whey is important as a nutrition booster as well. Every Tootsie Roll contains this ingredient.
However, palm oil is a controversial ingredient among vegans as some vegans count it as non-vegan. And its cultivation results in negative impacts on environment. As a result, some of the Orangutans and species like Sumatran Tigers become vulnerable.
The role played by sugar
Sugar is one of the essential ingredient found in any candy production. Sometimes sugar also becomes controversial among the vegan community. The pure white colour of sugar comes as a result of the process used for cane sugar with bone char. However, as far as the processing method is unknown to the buyer, Tootsie Rolls can be considered as vegan.
Flavors and colours
These are somewhat unique features of any confectionary industry. Different flavours and colours satisfy varied preferences or choices of the buyers. These flavours can be either natural or artificial flavours. Natural flavours are either animal source based on plant source based. Therefore, when flavours are related to animal sources, Tootsie Rolls will not fall under non-vegan category. Colours used for the sweets make the sweet non vegan when it comes from an insect or animal origin.
What about other Tootsie varieties?
Are Tootsie Fruit Chew Vegan?
The ingredients are condensed Skim Milk, Whey, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Palm Oil, Malic Acid, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Colors Contains Milk, Contains Soy. As we learnt earlier, condensed milk plays the main role in making the Tootsie Roll a non-vegan candy. And let’s move on to Tootsie Fruit Chew Pops too.
Ingredients for Tootsie pop are Sugar, Condensed Skim Milk, Cocoa, Whey, Corn Syrup, Palm Oil, Citric Acid, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Colors and Strawberry Powder.
Are Tootsie Pops Vegan?
Tootsie Pops also contain Whey and Condensed Skim Milk in the ingredients. This happens because the same Tootsie Roll is in Tootsie Pops too. Hence, all the Tootsie Pops, Tootsie Pop Drops, Tootsie Pops Minis, and Tootsie Bunch Pops are not vegan.